MFT Reviews

Having scored 59% on my 1st exam using the Gerry Grossman study materials, this, as is true of many MFT Interns, was my 2nd time taking the Clinical Exam. In my opinion, TDC's is the superior study program because of the study plan's schedule, the philosophy, the lectures, and the printed materials. Grossman, while providing very thorough lectures and documentation, did not have a study plan for what was to be studied, and for what duration and within what set timeframe. Similar to the format of a graduate class' curriculum, TDC's study schedule made staying organized and on task easy. While Grossman's approach seemed based upon memorization, TDC's focus was on understanding why the questions were being asked, what the logic behind each one was, and why the correct answer was the best choice. TDC's lectures and printed support material were brief, specific, and straightforward, whereas it was difficult to decipher what, from Grossman's 2 volumes of provided material, was pertinent and vital. As an analogy, Grossman's program was equivalent to the DSM-5, whereas TDC's was akin to James Morrison's, "DSM 5 Made Easy". To summarize, Grossman's program was about passing the exam; TDC's was about being a better therapist. Thank you, Amanda, and thank you to all of the members of your organization. I could not have asked for a better study program!

10/02/2017

This study system was absolutely amazing. The test taking techniques and perspectives allowed me to feel confident and organized walking into the testing room. I felt my anxiety lower and I was able to stay present and focused throughout the entire exam. Amanda's guidance, lectures and practice exams were incredibly helpful. There is so much information on these tests it's hard to know where to start. This system made such a difference in my preparation and passing. Would definitely recommend and use again if ever needed for another exam.

10/02/2017

I took Gerry Grossman for the old vignette version and I failed. Then the test changed to the new four hour exam. I took Gerry Grossman again for that exam and failed. My friend recommended your program because she passed. I was able to keep calm during the testing and remembered to keep telling myself I could do it. I suffer from anxiety, and the first time I took the exam I had a panic attack during the test. This time I stayed calm. Your mock exam was so much better than Gerry Grossman's. I felt like they were almost the same questions! Thank You!!!!!!

09/28/2017

Amanda repeats over and over to be prepared for uncertainty and she was absolutely right. Even with ample preparation, time and review of the materials, I didn't feel confident on this test. However, I did pass and made it through. TDC really helped to keep reminding myself that this was a judgment-based test and that kept me from panicking. I am very grateful to this program for helping me achieve what I have always wanted... the ability to be an LMFT.

09/30/2017

TDC offers a helpful breakdown of important information to learn for the test. More importantly, you take her "voice" with you to the test. I was able to "attack" the test by pinpointing the important things to look for in each question step based on the practice tests. I passed both tests the first time with TDC and I was able to extend my use of the program as long as I needed to until I was ready to take the test.
 

09/30/2017

TDC does an amazing job at preparing you for your exams. They provide extensive help and guidance throughout the entire process. I almost feel as if I was over prepared for my exam after taking this course and then my exam. The preparation was far more intense than my exam, which made my exam that much easier. Awesome job TDC.

09/29/2017

I could not have done it without the support of The Therapist Development Center. I came in very prepared, and utilized what I learned during my course of studying.

09/29/2017

Therapist Development Center helped me to organize my time well and to learn how to think about the questions and about what answer made the most sense. I found this course very helpful and will definitely use the MFT course when studying for my licensing exam. I remembered all of the trips on exam day and they helped a lot. Thanks TDC!

09/27/2017

Reading the material my second time after failing the L&E ethics allowed me to understand my study style and how to read the questions. Hearing the audios and going back to areas where I failed on the test was helpful. The two most helpful component was the L&E chart, as well TDC staff not giving up on me. I was offered unlimited extension and coaching support.

09/27/2017

I would highly recommend TDC for those who are studying for the MFT Law & Ethics exam. I got a late start on studying and was only able to study for just over 3 weeks, and I still passed. The studying has to be consistent to pass.

09/26/2017

I'm not native speaker in English, so I felt pressed as the test was going on because 90 minutes were quickly running out. I reminded myself of the last pep talk and catch up in the time. Thank you very much, everything in your materials was helpful.

09/25/2017

Thank you so much TDC! I am historically a terrible test taker. I followed the program exactly as instructed and felt confident with the material. It's true how you feel like you are failing throughout the entire test and I took much longer than I would have liked, but I passed! I took all the practice tests and mock exams (1st go around), I always scored somewhere in the 77% rate, which freaked me out. After reaching out to the support team I felt much more confident I would be okay. Thank you TDC, I look forward to passing the clinical exam after completing your study program.

09/25/2017

I like TDC's commitment to helping me pass the exam. I took my first exam about a year ago, and I didn't have any issues accessing the study materials again. One of the coaches, Robin, provided suggestions a few days before the exam to help me be more confident to pass the LMFT Law & Ethics Exam.

09/26/2017

I began this journey over a year ago and I feel like TDC is an "old friend" at this point. I feel like I personally know Amanda (even though I have never met her) and the coaches that helped me along the way have been my cheerleaders. This has been a grueling, tumultuous journey at times, but a great feeling of accomplishment when I crossed the finish line. Even though this is an online program, it began to feel very personal because of how thorough and attentive Amanda was with her coaching from start to finish. The coaches are responsive and attentive to questions. I like how the same coach responds to you when you get an initial response. It gives it a personal touch. Thank you again TDC!!

09/23/2017

This program has been SO helpful. I have had 2 children in the last two years and finding any extra time in my day to prepare for the exams has been incredibly difficult. I took the test the first time without much preparation (as I has just had my daughter) and I did not pass. It wasn't a surprise really, but it still was very disheartening. This time, I allowed 6 weeks to study (which is much easier to do when kids reaches over a year old) and I studied the program EXACTLY as the program requested. I am SO happy to say, I passed. After being out of the field for 3 years, the program completely prepared me for the exam, and I could not be happier with the level of customer service and encouragement I have gotten from TDC. Lastly, on a side note, Robin's voice is pretty perfect for the lectures, I just have to say. She didn't annoy me at all and I actually looked forward to study time! Haha. Truly! It was a pleasure to use this program.

09/23/2017

I am so relieved and grateful I passed the first time. I took all your mock exams twice, and both final exams. I augmented with a few other study materials. I appreciated the audio visual component of your materials, to help the material sink in multiple ways. I was amazed at how little of the memorizable elements they actually tested on (i.e. times to report by, spans to provide records by, etc.), but alas, I passed. Take care, and many thanks. I'm sure I'll be back for the licensing exam. 

09/23/2017

I am so grateful for the Therapist Development Center MFT Law and Ethics Study plan! I bought Benjamin Caldwell's book and practice exams which provided a helpful foundation but I still didn't feel 100% confident in my knowledge of the material. I didn't want to get TDC because of the price but I also didn't want to risk having to take the exam twice. Paying for TDC was the best decision ever. I completed the entire program in a week because I'm not working right now. The TDC practice tests are very similar to the exam, maybe even a little harder, and they totally prepared me for the test. If you complete TDC, you will be prepared for the test and also more prepared to engage the legal and ethical issues that come up as we practice.

09/22/2017

I cannot express how much this exam prep helped in my passing. The material was focused in my learning how to study for the exam, and the mock exams and audio rationales were invaluable in developing the mindset I needed to have going into the exam. The "How to Think" lecture and final pep talk helped ease a lot of the anxiety I experienced during the exam. Kudos to people who developed this program!
 

09/22/2017

I enjoyed listening to the audios. It made it very practical and effortless on busy days where I had to be out of the house. Overall, this test prep company does a great job at summarizing a very complex study material and making it more understandable. The mocks were also EXTREMELY useful and the degree of difficulty a bit less difficult than the actual exam (perhaps I was more anxious during the actual exam?!). Great test prep material especially for an auditory learner! Thank you!!

09/22/2017

I think TDC is an excellent study program! I liked the lecture format, the handouts and the overall detailed information which is all relevant to the exam. I felt prepared and my test taking anxiety was much more manageable after going through the study program. Thank you so much!!!!

09/21/2017

Follow Us

Twitter