Earn Your Florida Social Work License
Are you interested in getting your Florida social work license? By getting your social work license in Florida, you’ll be joining approximately 7,903 other social workers in providing the residents of Florida with quality mental health services. Below you’ll find a step-by-step guide for obtaining your social work license in Florida. While we work hard to keep our information up-to-date, it’s best to get in touch with the Florida Department of Health at (850) 245-4474 to make sure you’re headed in the right direction.
5 Steps for Obtaining Your Florida Social Work License:
Fulfill Your Education Requirements.
Obtain a Master of Social Work (MSW) from a CSWE approved or accredited college or university.
If not completed during your MSW, obtain 24 semester hours or 32 quarter hours in theory of human behavior and practice methods (as courses in clinically oriented services, including a minimum of one course in psychopathology), an eight-hour laws and rules course, and a two-hour prevention of medical errors course.
Qualify for the Clinical Exam.
Register with the Florida Department of health under the Board of CSW/MFT/MHC as a Registered Clinical Social Worker.
Complete 1500 hours of direct face-to-face psychotherapy.
Complete 100 hours of supervision.
Apply for the Clinical Exam.
Complete the State Application.
Make sure to review your completed application. Missing dates and signatures are the most common reasons applications are delayed. And don’t forget to include the check!
You'll have to pass the ASWB LCSW exam to get your Florida Social Work License. So once you are cleared, register for the LCSW exam with ASWB.
Prepare for the Social Work Clinical License (LCSW) Exam and obtain your LCSW.
Pick an exam date and make your test appointment at Pearson VUE.
Use our complete study system for the ASWB LCSW Exam. We cover the essential topics and supply the thinking strategies you’ll need to figure out the right answer. We provide an organized, step-by-step approach so you won’t waste your time trying to figure out what to study. Coaches who recently passed the exam are available to answer any questions while you prepare. Our materials are developed by social workers who passed the social work licensing exam with over 90% correct. We recommend studying 4-8 weeks with our program.
Pass the Clinical Level Exam and obtain your LCSW.
Congratulations! What an accomplishment. We wish you all the best in your career as a licensed clinical social worker.
Don't forget. You will need to complete a three-hour HIV/AIDS course and two-hour domestic violence course within 6 months of licensure.
Do you have questions about the Social Work Exam? Download our free Social Work Exam Guide.
Do you still have questions about obtaining your Florida social work license? Contact us and one of our coaches will help out.
The Therapist Development Center Team